Mental Emancipation

I sit back and I observe what today’s society has to offer, and it seems that the possibilities are endless. You can barely graduate from high school and become a multi-millionaire by the age of 22. So why is it that so many people settle for the spoils of apathetic half-witted ambition? I think it is a 50/50 deal. The first 50% is the biggest pimp that has ever existed on the face of this planet, the media. I turn on the television and each channel is littered with so called reality t.v. shows, which are obviously scripted. I see Ricky Rose’s video, rapping degrading lyrics of sexual exploits, violence, drug trafficking, and him making it rain $1 bills in a strip club full of our beautiful black women who prance around completely naked, not to mention the the pile of jewelery around his neck estimated at over $1,000,000. I change the channel and here is a Fox News reporter mistakenly saying “We killed Obama, oh I’m sorry Osama,” which is completely understandable because I even slipped and said it (no hypocrisy here), but multiple times in multiple broadcastings? #C’MonSon America is in the midst of a recession but yet, when I click on the internet, the front page Has “Lindsey Lohan Arrested”, who cares?

SMDH!!

Sex remains the #1 promoter of everything, even Disney has it in its cartoons. I am 22 years old and all of this time I didn’t realize that Tinkerbell barely had clothes on. But our children watch this, and idolize Lil Wayne, then completely surprised when kids are having kids in the 8th and 9th grade. Now any sensible approach would try to educate kids and use other preventive measures or we could just make another cheesy reality show full of 14-17 kids taking care of their babies and generate revenue.

What's in there?

I can not blame any television network or rapper for the troublesome conditionsĀ that exist. Please do not assume that I am blaming society for all of our struggles, if you noticed I said it was only 50% of the problem. The other 50 is on us, yea me and you, we accept this into our homes and our minds and consume it on a regular basis. We consume it so much that it becomes subconscious, which is the scary part. So now teen pregnancy is commercialized and accepted, now you have a young man who wants to buy the flashiest jewelery or biggest car with the rims to match so he can seem cool, or even worse the young man who waits for the first young man to buy the car, then kills him for it because he is a goon(Thanks Plies, who has a degree by the way). Females wearing less at younger ages, trying to get attention like the video models, or even worse, aspiring to be one themselves( you know it’s a career these days).

As I stated before, the blame is shared, and I can judge no one because I too have been guilty of subconscious coercion, but I have worked to liberate myself. Though it is an evolving task, I feel as though I should share some of the knowledge that I have come to learn. So WAKE UP people, begin to think for yourselves, instead of watching television everyday try to read an hour a day. Research investment techniques so you can put that money in a hedge fund instead of buying that expensive item that is out of your tax bracket.

Sex Sells

Every day, some type of progression should take place in your life, even if it is as simple a learning one new word a day. Life is a gift from God, don’t waste on VH1, make a change, build a legacy, and you’ll soon see how good liberation feels.

Leave a Reply

